Alan Bishop launches Koes Barat project on Record Store Day

Alan Bishop launches Koes Barat project on Record Store Day


March 11, 2015

Seattle based record label Sub Pop Records will bring on the Record Store Day (April 18) two new exciting releases: one is the self titled album of ex-Sun City Girls member Alan Bishop and his band Koes Barat and the second release is Father John Misty's heart-shaped "I Loved You, Honeybee" 7-inch.

The 11-track album Koes Barat reflects Alan Bishop's interest in the popular '60s/'70s Indonesian psych-garage group Koes Bersaudara (aka Koes Plus - out of print now), who were composed of the Koeswoyos brothers. For Koes Barat, Bishop enlisted Master Musicians of Bukkake members Milky Burgess (guitar), Don McGreevy (drums), Jim Davis (bass), and Randall Dunn (producer) to get on board.

Feeling an overwhelming urge to interpret Koes tunes, Bishop recorded Koes Barat in less than a week of sessions with some of his favorite musicians and producer Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Marisa Nadler). The result is the most immediate, fun collection that the prolific Bishop has ever led. This album is a Record Store Day exclusive, limited to 3,800 worldwide.

Koes Barat Track list:

1. Kelelewar
2. Kisah Sedih di Hari Minggu
3. Pent Juri Hati
4. Mister Time
5. Hidup Yang Sepi
6. And to the so-called “The Guilties”
7. Tjintamu Telah Berlalu
8. Poor Clown
9. Land of Evergreen
10. Rahasia Hatiku
11. Tiba Tiba Ku Menangis

Have Your Say