Raster Noton celebrates 20 years with source book 1

Raster Noton celebrates 20 years with source book 1


February 22, 2017

Raster-Noton’s 20 year commemorative source book 1 includes a comprehensive review of the record label, comprised of the extensive catalog of all releases and series published between 1996 and 2016. A further exclusive part of the publication is the accompanying »archiv 4« compilation CD, which is only available in acquisition of the book.

The compilation includes tracks from influential members of the label, including Alva Noto, Byetone, Frank Bretschneider, Kangding Ray, Emptyset, Senking, Grischa Lichtenberger, Kyoka, Robert Lippok, Uneo Masaaki and Anne-James Chaton.

In the summer of 2016, Raster-Noton toured extensively around the world and presented their »white circle« installation in venues such as the ZKM in Karlsruhe and the Halle am Berghain in Berlin. 2016 also saw the introduction of a younger generation of visionary artists to the label by releasing works from Grischa Lichtenberger, Kyoka and Jesse Osborne-Lanthier.

Following the idea of the label which defines itself as a platform for its artists, the releases in the catalog part are not presented according to their format, invested effort or meaning, but sorted according to their catalog number and presented on exactly one double page, whereas some series were summarized. As a continuation of this archival revision, further »source books« are planned that will document artist profiles, installations, composition techniques and sources of inspiration.

Track list:
01 - kangding ray. silver (pruitt igoe prototype)
02 - emptyset. augur
03 - grischa lichtenberger. 0514_01 re 0809_20 1 barrg b
04 - alva noto. milan (for kostas murkudis)
05 - anne - james chaton. nisansala
06 - frank bretschneider. thermik
07 - senking. lug
08 - byetone. postpostrefabricated
09 - atomTM. flimmern
10 - robert lippok. textured
11 - kyoka. side to side (live rec version)
12 - ueno masaaki. building rain (prototype)

Have Your Say