Spacemen 3 - Losing Touch With Your Mind

Spacemen 3 - Losing Touch With Your Mind

Verdict: 5/5

Munster Records


MR 011



Written By

The Attic


February 5, 2014

Spacemen 3 and The Jesus And Mary Chain were the initiators of the shoegazer and drone-rock scene, which developed in the U.K. at the close of the '80s. But while both bands showed an obvious affinity for sounds of The Velvet Underground, they otherwise found different sources of inspiration, ranging from Sonic Youth to Red Krayola to Suicide.

Spacemen 3 comprises in British musician and producer Peter Kember (who also took different music shapes like The Mainliner, Peter Gunn or Sonic Boom) and English musician Jason Pierce, also known as J. Spaceman. The band formed in 1982 and has released a dozen of albums and singles, and some notable teamwork, splitting selected great records with bands such as Wooden Shjips, MGMT, Sun Araw. The neo-psychedelia band was active between the years ’82 to ’91, but the band’s co-leader Peter Kember is still spreading ‘the sound of confusion’, with very rare and selected appearances as Sonic Boom.

This (actually) unofficial ‘’marbled’’ vinyl/CD release includes some of Spacemen 3 best work, including the now famous ''Walkin' With Jesus'', ''Losing Touch With My Mind'', ''Why Couldn’t I see'', or the hypnotic ''Repeater''. This is an amazing album to completely loose yourself in an introspective mental state, a beautiful but intriguing listening experience. Play the record out and loose touch with your mind.


A1. Honey
A2. Walkin' With Jesus
A3. Repeater
A4. X-Tacy Symphony
A5. Transparent Radiation
B1. Losing Touch With My Mind
B2. Suicide
B3. Things'll Never Be The Same
B4. Why Couldn't I See

Have Your Say