Legowelt - Crystal Cult 2080

Legowelt - Crystal Cult 2080

Verdict: 3/5

Crème Organization




April 2014

Written By

Dragos Rusu


April 15, 2014

This is Danny Wolfers’ eight album under the Legowelt alias. His music career is so prolific that it took him around 25 different alias (if Discogs is correct) to express himself musically.

An expert of all kind of electronics, Wolfers seem to be that kind of established electronic music producers that, somehow, found a secret recipe in workflow. He might even have a secret fountain behind his 3 floors castle located in the odd The Hague Dutch town, where he takes his inspiration from, every once in a while, when he runs out of it.

Trying to get this review done, I was reading a lot of stuff from different media on the Internet about the album. I have to tell you, after two beers you care even less about the contextual shape of the album than you did before. And even if Wolfers takes his work very simple, honest and non conceptual, there’s a general need from different ”music curators” to inflate each of his albums, evoking ideas and concepts of large dimensions regarding Legowelt’s sound. ”I am just recording tracks all the time, it’s nothing special, but the press loves that kind of stuff I guess, 'cause it sounds more exotic”, Danny states in a recent interview for RA.

The ones that are familiar with previous Legowelt records, would easily recognize his unique strings and touch over every track, building complex melodies and making electronic dance music, which sounds harmonic and gentle, but also hypnotic and solid on the dance floor.

The album's title, Crystal Cult 2080, suggests an interest on the digital synthesizer Roland JV2080, very similar to its predecessor, the still-current JV1080. The new album came out on TLR’s Crème Organization and features 12 new tracks, that will surely delight any of the regular Legowelt’s followers.

It somehow carries the same introspective melodies that Legowelt has been playing with for ages, but there’s some wonderful tracks, such as the shadowy ”Ancient Rites Demoni Mundi”, ”Psychotic Endurance”, the philosopher track ”The Future of Myself” or the darkest one on the album, which also closes it in good terms with our out of space friends, ”Cyberspace is Still Happenin’ for Real”, tracks which really stand out as snaking masterpieces on the current global electronic scene.

Is Legowelt’s music making a different on the current scene? Sure it does; and by the way, who am I to complain about the impact of quantity over quality and to bitch around about the perfect balance between these two? Oh, one last thing: if you didn’t stumble upon the excellent e-zine Order of the Shadow Wolf yet, now might be a good time to have a look, there’s some at least interesting info you don’t want to miss out.


A1. Experiential Awakening
A2. Ancient Rites Demoni Mundi
B1. Excalibur R8MK2
B2. Psychotic Endurance
B3. How I Live
C1. The Future Of Myself
C2. Fundamental Superstition
C3. Crystal Cult 2080
D1. When Spring Comes Again
D2. Cyberspace Is Still Happenin' For Real

Have Your Say