Akis - Space, Time and Beyond (Selected Works 1986-2016)

Akis - Space, Time and Beyond (Selected Works 1986-2016)

Verdict: 4/5

Into The Light Records




April 2017

Written By

Irina Radu


April 11, 2017

Into The Light continues their exciting foray into Greek electronic music with their new release: Akis: Space, Time and Beyond (Selected Works 1986-2016), offering a gateway towards the works of another fascinating Greek electronic composer.

Akis’s career consists of compositions that roam around multiple platforms, from film OSTs and previously unreleased material to live performances. The album spans a syncopated timeline of his work, compiling the diversity of realms that Akis accesses.

As a student in the United States in the 1980s, Daoutis recorded there the pieces from the same period. The ambient and New Age esoteric ramifications culminate in the two parts of an originally 40 minute piece, New Age Rising,

Some of the 1980s tracks were created using the UPIC system (pioneered by another Greek composer, Iannis Xenakis), with source materials as crystals (Crystal Forest), guitar and voice (Solar Rain). A similar process is used for the 2004 Future Song, where the source material is a female voice.

Beach Ambience, composed for the movie From the Edge of the City is a multi layered composition, creating a John Carpenter-like narrative while retaining the dark ambient.

Space, Time and Beyond is an ahead-of-its-time mosaic, with a title that’s indicative of its effects, as Daoutis creates coordinates that generate the access of frequencies to a mind-altering locus.


A1. Biofields (feat. D. Spaneas)
A2. Future Song
A3. New Age Rising (Part I)
A4. The Powers of Pi
A5. Erotica
A6. At Sirius
B1. Solar Rain
B2. Christmas
B3. Space, Time and Beyond
C1. Into the Light
C2. Ecological Awareness
C3. Violet
D1. Crystal Forest
D2. New Age Rising (Part VIII)
D3. Beach Ambience
D4. Venus
D5. My Haunting Sins

Have Your Say