John Carpenter to release Lost Themes

John Carpenter to release Lost Themes


January 31, 2015

American film director, screenwriter, producer, editor and composer John Carpenter will release in February his first album of non-soundtrack material on the record label Sacred Bones.

Carpenter is the author of several cult movies, such as Halloween (1978), Escape from New York (1981), Starman (1984), Dark Star (1974), Assault on Precinct 13 (1976), The Fog (1980), The Thing (1982), Christine (1983), Big Trouble in Little China (1986), Prince of Darkness (1987) and They Live (1988).

Carpenter describes Lost Themes as ''a score for the movies that are playing in your head. “They’re little moments of score from movies made in our imaginations. Now I hope it inspires people to create films that could be scored with this music.”

The famous director told to Defamer magazine that the whole process of recording and releasing the album ''It was a matter of luck, it was never planned. This began as an improvisation with my son and I playing. We improvised about 60 minutes worth of music and he went away to Japan to teach, so I just sat on the music. And then I got a new music lawyer. She asked me, "Do you have anything new?" I sent her the stuff my son and I had done, and a couple of months later I had a record deal. What the hell? This is easy.''

Track list 'Lost Themes':
A1. Vortex
A2. Obsidian
A3. Fallen
A4. Domain
B1. Mystery
B2. Abyss
B3. Wraith
B4. Purgatory
B5. Night

Have Your Say